�


violet-revu
new
reviewed
reviewers wanted
profile
rings
rules
pending
request
notes
E-Mail
Host
Design







julesmarie99/pinknvinegar-purr

Julesmarie99/pinknvinegar.diaryland.com-Purr
Reviewed by Violet on IE, with 1024X768 resolution
Time spent reading/reviewing diary: 2.5 hours
User's total entries: 164
Entries read: 100
pinknvinegar: "An enigma in a size 11 shoe"

First Impression: 4.0 Nicely organized . . .you seem much older and mature than your age would suggest.

Content: 4.0 You are a high school student who excels in most every subject, though you (like me) hate geometry and trig. You love English and History and want to be an English teacher after college. You are very attached to Mrs. Evans, whom you think of as your guardian angel. A large portion of your entries focus on her and even those that don�t typically have at least a mention of her. I feel, reading your diary, that I know more about Mrs. Evans than I do about you. Obviously, she is a very important person in your life. When your own family is detached and seemingly emotionally unavailable, it is normal to reach for someone who can fill those needs. I actually did the same thing with two teachers when I was in middle school and in high school, so I think that I connected with your diary much more strongly because of that. I went through a very down time when I wasn�t focused on school, wasn�t communicating with my parent, and felt very, very depressed. Suddenly, like Clarence from It�s a Wonderful Life, I had my very own guardian angel who pulled my grades from the front office, sat me down and told me to get my act together as she would be watching me. I idolized her, thought she was hilarious and worried myself into a knot when I even suspected that anything could be going wrong in her life. Our stories are very similar, Jules, and I have to tell you that I am so very tempted to tell you how my story ended up.

Your writing style is lovely, and it is easy to follow what is going on in your life because you link to pertinent entries for quick reference. The reader can jump into your diary at any point and be up to speed very quickly. You love to read, and you are very anti-republican and anti-Bush. You are a Girl Scout, and you volunteer your time to help others (ie, Habitat for Humanity). You have a 100 fact list, a 75 fact list, and countless surveys. If a reader says they can�t learn anything about you from your diary, they just plain aren�t looking!

You had a review site that appears to be closed, but I loved reading your take on other people�s diaries. You also had a novel you were working on that appears to have been updated last in September of 2003. I read the last entry and was very taken by your ability to write realistic fiction.

Errors: 4.0 None. Zip. Zero. Nada.

Layout: 4.0 So utilitarian! And, unless my eyes deceive me, you designed it yourself. Kudos! And I adored the guest book layout, even those it doesn�t exactly match your main page. You have a design site of your own as well, entitled puckingpink. You go girl!

Navigation: 4.0 You have previous/next links on your pages, a well-organized archive page, and links in the side bars and throughout many of your entries. You have a previous entries box on the side of the current entry, complete with link and description. Very easy to get around.

Extras: 4.0 I can�t even begin to list all of your extras, that is how many you have!

Contact: 4.0 AOL, email, guest book, notes, etc. You also have an entry that has a tagboard (at /contact.html) but I don�t see that you�ve linked to it from your main page. No points off for that, but you may want to consider linking to it so people can find it.

Honors points: +0.6 You review, write, and design; you read and encourage others to do so, love Broadway musicals, Harper Lee and Judy Blume.

Would I come back: 4.0 Absolutely. And that is the amazing thing about your diary. According to my calculations, and I�m not the best at math;), we are at least 12 years apart in age. I have already lived through the part of my life that you are experiencing right now, yet, I am still intrigued by your interpretation of it. I have always said that as young adults, we have a narrower view of the world, but the focus is so much sharper. As we age, our view gets broader, but we lose some clarity. You are at that wonderful age where what you see is intensely clear, vividly colorful and dramatically immediate. I miss that :)

Favorite entries Must Read is an entry where you helpfully linked to all your cast/bio/fact pages.

Rambling is an entry that gave me flashbacks.

Favorite quotes: "I lost my Broadway virginity to Rent, which I am very proud of. :)"

Score:4.0 /4.0 + 0.6 for honors points=4.6/4.0 A+
Verdict: PURR. Violet loves you!

Unsolicited Advice/Comments: Friends can be friends, mentors can be mentors and therapists can be therapists. No one person can or should be all three, for in the melding, the essence of each is lost. I found peace when I let my friend be my friend, and let a therapist be my therapist. Best wishes to you! Love, Violet

Your feedback is welcome! Please leave a note, guestbook entry or email. Thank you for requesting a Violet Review!

Last . Next

chilindrina humble dwelling--purr - 2005-01-03
Be right back! - 2005-01-03
Texas Peach, peach's escape-purr - 2004-10-14
larawolfe-purr - 2004-10-14
Violet is busy taking care of her Mom and is ISO Reviewers - 2004-10-14